Mr. Irish Bastard

Name: Mr. Irish Bastard

Country: Germany

Formed in: 2006

Status: Active

The Band was founded in the middle of 2006 by the singer The Irish Bastard (Himself), the banjo player Gran E. Smith and Lady Lily on tin whistle. These three had already played together in another band with strong folk influences. The bass guitarist Boeuf Strongenuff, with whom The Irish Bastard had also been playing in a band for years, were recruited for this project. Other band members were Ron Calli and Mitch Mackes. Increasing success, coupled with immense touring, led to many changes in the lineup within the first few months. By now, the four founding members and drummer Ivo K’Nivo were the fixed lineup, who are supported by the “Travelling Bastards” Itchy Quetchy (Accordion) and the guitar players P or Moe Leicester. Sometimes, former members of the band still join them on stage. By now, a loyal fan community and a first unofficial fan club, the “Mr. Irish Bastard Street Team”, had been established and the band plays to audiences of up to 6,000 people (e.g. at the “Open Flair” festival, see Eschwege).

Musically Mr. Irish Bastard are influenced by bands like The Pogues, Flogging Molly, Dropkick Murphys as well as classic punk bands. These roots are linked in a unique way while also often using other musical styles, like ska for example. This breaking down of genre borders is also expressed in innovative cover versions of popular songs like Ricky Martin’s “Livin’ la Vida Loca”, The Cure’s “Why Can’t I be You?” or “Temple of Love”, originally by The Sisters of Mercy. Nevertheless, Irish influences prevail and traditional songs like Galway Bay (song) or Dirty Old Town are often played. The band members name Sepultura, Portishead (band), Social Distortion, German Oi! band Broilers and German comedy musician Helge Schneider as their personal influences.


Band members

  • Mr. Irish Bastard – vocals, guitar
  • Boeuf Strongenuff – bass
  • Ivo K´Nivo – drums
  • Gran E. Smith – banjo, mandolin
  • P – guitar
  • Moe Leicester – guitar
  • Hatey Katey – tin whistle
  • B.B. – accordion, tin whistle
  • Vi O’Lency – violin
  • Paddy Eyepole – accordion, banjo, mandolin, guitar



  • The Bastard Brotherhood (2008)
  • A Fistful of Dirt (2010)
  • Never Mind The Bastards – Here Is Mr. Irish Bollocks (2011)
  • The World, The Flesh & The Devil (2015)
  • The Desire for Revenge (2018)


  • St. Mary’s School Of Drinking (2008)


  • Fernsehkonzert Mr. Irish Bastard 15.01.2009 (2009)


  • University of Hard Knocks (2008)
  • Fortune & Glory (2009)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *