The Mahones

Name: The Mahones

Country: Canada

Formed in: 1990

Status: Active

The Mahones are a Canadian Irish-punk band, formed in 1990 by Dublin-born Finny McConnell, as a one-off band for a St. Patrick’s Day party. Encouraged by a positive reception, McConnell decided to pursue the band full-time. The Mahones have released thirteen albums to date with their most recent, “Love, Death, & Redemption”, being released in 2018.

The Mahones’ music has appeared in several major films. Recently, their song “Paint The Town Red 2010” was featured in the climactic final fight scene of The Fighter, starring Mark Wahlberg, Christian Bale, and Amy Adams. The film went on to win two Academy Awards and several Golden Globes. The Mahones also co-wrote and recorded the title track for the Hollywood Pictures movie Celtic Pride, featuring Damon Wayans, Daniel Stern, and Dan Aykroyd. Their song “100 Bucks” was also featured in the movie Dog Park, featuring Natasha Henstridge, Luke Wilson, Janeane Garofalo, as well as Bruce McCulloch and Mark McKinney from Kids in the Hall. The Mahones’ song “A Little Bit of Love” is in the new film Ecstasy, based on Irvine Welsh’s critically acclaimed book.

The Mahones have shared stages and toured around the world with bands such as Dropkick Murphys, Stiff Little Fingers, Shane MacGowan and The Popes, Billy Bragg, Chuck Ragan, UK Subs, Sick Of It All, The Defects, Agnostic Front, The Buzzcocks, D.O.A., Against Me, The Tragically Hip, Crash Vegas, The Damned, Suicidal Tendencies, The Prodigy, Gwar, Skunk Anansie, Blue Rodeo, Steve Earle, The Alarm, Sinéad O’Connor, Roger Miret and The Disasters, Dylan Walshe, Flogging Molly, Spirit of the west, The Dubliners, Christy Moore, The Band and Van Morrison. The band’s cited influences included The Clash, The Pogues, Greenland Whalefishers, The Who, and Hüsker Dü. The group’s lineup has changed a number of times, with McConnell and Whelan as the main constant members. Pogues members Terry Woods and Phil Chevron joined the band on tour in 2003.


Band members

  • Finny McConnell – vocal, guitar, mandolin, bass, bodhran
  • Sean ‘Riot’ Ryan – bass
  • Michael O’Grady – accordion, tin whistle
  • Katie Kaboom – accordion, keyboards
  • Nicole Kaiser – accordion
  • Al ‘Baby’ Webster – drums
  • Gina Romantini – fiddle



  • Clear The Way (1993)
  • Draggin’ The Days (1994)
  • Rise Again (1996)
  • The Hellfire Club Sessions (1999)
  • Here Comes Lucky (2001)
  • Take No Prisoners (2006)
  • The Black Irish (2010)
  • Angels & Devils (2012)
  • The Hunger & The Fight Part 1 (2014)
  • The Hunger & The Fight Part 2 (2015)
  • Love + Death + Redemption (2018)


  • Live At the Horseshoe (2003)
  • A Great Night On The Lash (Live In Italy) (2014)


  • Welcome to The Folk Punk Show (2014)


  • Paint The Town Red (2003)
  • Irish Punk Collection (2007)
  • 25 Years Of Irish Punk (The Very Best) (2016)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *